Create or retrieve your password by clicking here

National Tourism Foundation Announces 2004 Scholarship and Grant Recipients

July 13, 2004

National Tourism Foundation Announces 2004 Scholarship and Grant Recipients
July 13, 2004 – The National Tourism Foundation awarded 28 scholarships and three research grants for a total award amount of more than $40,300 this year.

Students were required to have above a 3.0 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and be studying in a travel-and-tourism-related field in order to be eligible for these awards. Selections were based on academic achievement, community involvement, work experience and recommendations.

The Foundation is pleased to enhance the tourism industry by recognizing these outstanding future leaders. In addition to the cash award, students will also receive complimentary registration to the 2004 NTA Annual Convention in Toronto.

The National Tourism Foundation is a non-profit organization that supports research and education in travel and tourism. Since 1982, the National Tourism Foundation has awarded more than $1.5 million to travel and tourism students in the form of grants, scholarships and awards. For more information, visit

Recipients Include:

  • Shelly Hasley, University of Alabama, Alabama/Birmingham Legacy Scholarship, $1,000
  • Heather Foreman, California State University at Chico, California State Scholarship, $2,000
  • Margaret Smith, Central Connecticut State University, Connecticut State Scholarship, $1,500
  • Naketrice Booker, Bethun-Cookman College, Florida State Scholarship, $1,000
  • Kaipo Henrikson, University of Hawaii at Manoa Hawaii, Chuck Yim Gee Scholarship, $1,500
  • Malikha Mabry, Kendall College, Illinois State Scholarship, $500
  • Michael Bogigian, Massachusetts Bay Community College, Massachusetts State Scholarship $1,000
  • Beth Lefler, Central Michigan University, Michigan State Scholarship, $1,000
  • Kelly Ann McHugh, St. Cloud State University, Minnesota Legacy Scholarship, $1,000
  • Tonia Roberts, St. Louis Community College at Forest Park, Missouri State Scholarship, $1,000
  • Maren Olsen, University of Montana, Western Montana State Scholarship, $500
  • Laura Pella, University of Nebraska, Kearney Nebraska – Lois Johnson Scholarship, $500
  • Amber Bowland, Community College of Southern Nevada, Nevada State Scholarship, $500
  • Beth Ann Fylstra, Montclair State University, New Jersey (New Jersey I & II) State Scholarshp, $1,500
  • Jessica L. Turner, Niagara University, New York State Scholarship, $1,000
  • Edna A. Amolo, North Carolina Central University North Carolina State Scholarship $500
  • Christin M. Fitch, Sinclair Community College Ohio State Scholarship $1,000
  • Megan Giorda, Texas A&M University Texas State Scholarship $500
  • Christopher Newton, University of Utah Utah – Keith Griffall Scholarship $1,000
  • Nicole Spragan, Virginia State University Virginia State Scholarship $1,000
  • William Young, Clemson University Yellow Ribbon Scholarship $2,500
  • Stuart Levy, University of Calgary, Haskayne School of Business, Travel and Tourism Research Association Travel Research Grant, $2,300
  • Shane Taylor, Columbia University Travelers Conservation Foundation Sustainable Tourism Scholarship $1,000
  • Laura Milarcik, Bowling Green State University, Cleveland Legacy I & II Scholarship, $1,000
  • Luke Batz, Orange-Ulster BOCES Career and Technical Educational Center, Academy of Travel and Tourism Scholarship $500
  • Maria Cecilia Monti, Johnson & Wales University, Tauck Scholars Scholarship (2yr), $1,500 per year
  • Amber Dorchester, Bowling Green State University, Tauck Scholars Scholarship (2yr), $1,500 per year
  • Raktida Siri, Richland College, Tauck Scholars Scholarship (2yr), $1,500 per year
  • Leslie Shelton, University of Hawaii, Manoa Tauck Scholars Scholarship (2yr), $1,500 per year
« »