Create or retrieve your password by clicking here

The Travelers Conservation Foundation and the National Tourism Foundation Form New Organization

November 15, 2004

The Travelers Conservation Foundation and the National Tourism Foundation Form New Organization
TORONTO – The National Tourism Foundation and the Travelers Conservation Foundation have announced plans to consolidate their organizations into a single foundation, effective January 1, 2005. Both foundations’ boards have given unanimous approval to the consolidation.

The new foundation, as yet unnamed, will encompass both missions of its founding organizations.

"The tourism industry has been fortunate to have two outstanding foundations," Bruce Beckham, CTP, said. "I am confident the consolidated organization will have a dramatically increased impact on conservation, preservation and education thanks to the leadership of the United States Tour Operators Association and the National Tour Association [now CrossSphere]."

Beckham, a former member of both the NTA and USTOA boards, currently serves as executive director of TCF and will hold that post with the new foundation.

USTOA founded TCF in 1999. TCF works to preserve, conserve and promote responsible use of the world’s natural, cultural and historic treasures. TCF supports public awareness and conservation education programs and invests in globally significant projects though direct grants and funding partnerships.

NTA founded the National Tourism Foundation in 1984 to support travel industry education and research. Programs include an extensive scholarship program, internships and "practitioners in the classroom" initiatives.

The new foundation’s initial board of directors is equally balanced between the National Tourism Foundation and TCF boards.

The new board members originating from the National Tourism Foundation include:
Marilyn Bell, The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Becky Casey, Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc.
Ed Hall, Greater Rochester Visitors Association
Patty Janes, Central Michigan University
Mitch Sussman, CTP, Starr Tours

Board members from TCF include:
John Stachnik, Mayflower Tours
Brian Stack, CIE Tours International
Dan Sullivan Jr., Collette Vacations
Arthur Tauck Jr., Tauck World Discovery
Amy Wilkins, Smithsonian Magazine

Additionally, CrossSphere President Hank Phillips, CTP, and USTOA President Bob Whitley also will serve on the board.

"I am so proud of the volunteer leaders of both organizations for making this consolidation happen," Phillips said. "We have the opportunity to far exceed as one foundation what either of the two could have achieved separately. Everyone talks about industry unity. These two foundations have now demonstrated what unity really means."

"USTOA members showed vision and leadership in founding TCF, and I am proud to see that vision and leadership grow on behalf of the entire tourism industry," Whitley said.

The new foundation will announce its name, formal mission and logo at the USTOA Convention on December 6 in Hollywood, Fla.

« »