Create or retrieve your password by clicking here

National Tourism Foundation Announces Tauck Scholars Program

March 22, 2004

National Tourism Foundation Announces Tauck Scholars Program
March 22, 2004 – LEXINGTON, Ky. – The National Tourism Foundation is pleased to announce the Tauck Scholars program, a scholarship program created in honor of respected travel industry leader and Foundation Hall of Fame inductee Arthur C. Tauck Jr., chairman of Tauck World Discovery and Tauck Holdings, Inc.

To commemorate Tauck’s induction into the Hall of Fame in May 2003, family members and business associates donated a total of $12,000 for the purpose of establishing scholarships in his name. During the induction ceremony, Tauck’s daughter, Robin, president of Tauck World Discovery, explained that the decision was inspired by her father’s commitment to education. "He knows that when students are passionate and led by education, they will become the change," she said. "He has taught us to care and to give back and to build a better future."

This summer, four talented travel and tourism students will be recognized as Tauck Scholars. Each one will receive a two-year scholarship totaling $3,000 for the purpose of continuing their undergraduate education. Recipients will be awarded $1,500 per year in 2004 and 2005, providing that they maintain the initial qualifying criteria related to grade point average and field of study.

To be eligible for this honor, students must be strong academic achievers with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale. They must also be entering the sophomore or junior year of study at an accredited college or university with a degree emphasis in a travel-and-tourism-related field. Applicants will be required to submit a brief essay, two letters of recommendation and other supporting materials. Applications and additional details are available at the National Tourism Foundation’s Web site,, and must be received by May 10.

Arthur Tauck’s commitment to the industry spans more than 50 years. In 1954, he served as a founder of the National Tour Brokers Association (NTBA), which later became the National Tour Association (NTA). As chairman of the board of Tauck World Discovery based in Norwalk, Conn., he is dedicated to volunteering in the travel and tourism industry and promoting education and research. His personal travel and tourism contributions include community development, heritage and natural preservation as well as cultural understanding. Tauck acts as a trustee and vice chairman of the Institute of Certified Travel Agents, serves on the board of directors of the Travel Industry Association of America and chairs the Travelers Conservation Foundation as well as the Tauck Foundation, the family’s philanthropic division.

The National Tourism Foundation Hall of Fame was created in 1998 to recognize individuals who have made an outstanding commitment to furthering the Foundation’s mission. The National Tourism Foundation is a nonprofit organization that supports research and education in travel and tourism. Since 1982, the National Tourism Foundation has awarded more than $1.5 million to travel and tourism students in the form of grants, scholarships and awards. For more information, contact the Foundation’s Projects Coordinator Michelle Gorin at 800-682-8886, ext. 4265 or or visit


« »